ADM330 Contemporary South East Asian Art

This is my last Art, Humanity, and Social Science Prescribe Elective (AHSS PE), my first and last time course in School of Art, Design and Media (ADM). I choose it purposely, as I know, ha, final year student should have priority in competing PE with the other. Furthermore, ADM is damn close to my room, just 5-minute walking distance, Friday 9am to 12pm 3-hour lecture makes no problem to me.😉

Well, let share with you some artworks in Singapore.

Before 1950s, Academic art period.

Low Kway Song: Lynx 1921, Naturism

Cheong Soo Pieng, Indians and Cows, 1949

1950s: Social and Local themes

Chen Wen Hsi, In the Museum, 1956.

I watched his exhibition in Singapore Art Museum(SAM) before, around Dec 2006, if I am not wrong. Actually, one of his paintings is everywhere in Singapore, inside our wallets/purses. Don’t believe me? Show me your S$50 note, then I will show you where are “the monkeys”!! Haha.

Chua Mia Tee, National Language Class, 1950s, Realistic oil painting.

1960s to 1980s: Public Works (less painting)

Tang Da Wu, The Tiger’s Whip.
It is actually a controversial performing art, which raise the issue of using tiger penis and rhino horns in Traditional Chinese Medicine.

Suan & Machlacen Architects, War Memorial (Nick-named as “The Chopsticks”), 1967.

Lim Nang Seng, The Merlion, 1972

The most well-known sculpture in Singapore, a commercial art indeed, to promote Tourism.

Salvador Dali, Homage to Newton, 1985, UOB plaza.

Elsie Yu, Joyous Rivers, 1987, Marina Bay.

This is just the content of last Friday. Well, indeed, the most “exciting” (challenging) part is the project itself, which will be presented at the end of this semester. I will SU it. Don’t worry, my friends, haha~

 

发表评论

